21st Century School



Official Opening

On the 9th of May, 2004, Tineteriffe N.S. was formally blessed and opened. Archbishop Dermot Clifford performed the blessing before a large attendance of past and present pupils of the school. Politicans and councillors from all parties were well represented and Willie O' Dea (Minister of State at the time and presently Minister of Defence) cut the red ribbon and unveiled a plaque to commmemorate the auspicious occasion.

Following this, all went inside for a celebration of mass co-concelebrated by His Grace ,Archbishop Clifford, Fr. Richard Browne (P.P.), Fr. Liam Ryan, Fr. Seamus Ryan and Fr. Corbett. Many people spoke representing Parents Councils, Boards of Managements, and past pupils recording their memories of the school. Last to speak was Enda O' Mahoney(principal) who detailed the changes to Tineteriffe N.S. and thanked all who contributed to the project.

Back to top


a) John Thompson & partners - architects in particular John Scanlon.
b) Nolan Ryan - quantity Surveyors
c) Don O'Malley- consulting engineers
d) Nicholas O'Dwyer - consulting engineers
e) The Builders - Collins Builders Cecil St Limerick

Part of the front section of the school

A view of the back of the school.

The new building consists of four spacious classrooms each with its own toilets and teacher's storeroom. Other facilities include a library/computer room, learning support room, staff room, store rooms and a medium sized hall with an attached kitchenette. As Tinteriffe is a five teacher school there is one prefabricated building on the grounds to accommodate the other class.

Back to top


Enda O' Mahoney
Kitty Sheehan , Farnane, 2004

Margaret Hickey
Deirdre Treacy
Claire Barry
Kitty Sheehan
Helen O'Connell
Marguerite Ryan
Elizabeth Ryan

Back to top